Walking pads and treadmills both put a moving belt under your feet, but they are built for different jobs. A walking pad is a low, rail-free deck designed for slow, steady walking, usually under a standing desk. A treadmill is a taller machine with a console, handrails, a longer deck and a motor built for running speeds. This comparison looks at six real models, three of each, so the differences are in actual numbers rather than generalities. If you already know you want a pad, our best walking pads guide goes straight to the picks; if you know you want a full machine, see our best treadmills for walking.
The short answer
For desk walking, small apartments and anyone who walks at an easy to brisk pace, a walking pad is the better tool. It is lighter, smaller, cheaper in most cases and quiet enough for many offices. For running, steep hill walks, anyone who wants something to hold onto, and tall walkers with a long stride, a treadmill is the better tool. The one thing a pad cannot do well is speed: every walking pad in our table stops at 3.7 or 4.0 mph, while the treadmills reach 8 to 12 mph.
If you want a bit of both, 2-in-1 pads with a fold-up handle sit in between. We cover those in our guide to running on a walking pad.
Side-by-side: three walking pads and three treadmills
The first three rows are walking pads and the last three are folding treadmills. All figures come from the brand pages and the sources in our catalog.
Scroll sideways for all specs →
| Product | Motor | Speed | Incline | Max user | Belt | Weight | Folds | Handle | Where to buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
1 UREVO SpaceWalk 3SPad with auto incline | 2.5 HP | 0.6-4.0 mph | 0-9% motorized | 265 lb | 42.5 x 16.54 | 56.65 lb | ✕ No | ✕ No | Check price on Amazon |
2 WalkingPad C2Pad that folds in half | 1 HP brushless | 0.5-3.7 mph | None | 220 lb | 47.2 x 15.8 | 55 lb | ✓ Yesfolds in half | + Optional | Check price on Amazon |
3 Merach W50Pad for heavier walkers | 3.5 HP peak / 1.25 HP continuous | 0.6-4.0 mph | 1-12% motorized | 400 lb | 41.3 x 16.5 | 69.2 lb | ✕ Nostands upright for storage | ✕ No | Check price on Amazon |
4 Sunny SF-T7515Budget incline treadmill | 2.2 HP peak | 1.0-8.0 mph | 12 motorized levels | 300 lb | 49.5 x 16.5 | 123.5 lb | ✓ Yessoft-drop hydraulic fold | ✓ Yesfull handrails | Check price on Amazon |
5 Horizon 7.0 ATSteep incline treadmill | 3.0 HP continuous | 0.5-12 mph | 0-15% motorized | 325 lb | 60 x 20 | 277 lb | ✓ Yesone-step hydraulic fold | ✓ Yesfull handrails | Check price on Amazon |
6 SOLE F63Durable daily treadmill | 3.0 HP, brushless | 0.5-12 mph | 15 motorized levels | 325 lb | 60 x 20 | 187 lb | ✓ YesKick Release fold with… | ✓ Yesfull handrails | Check price on Amazon |
Figures are as published by the maker unless the product section below says otherwise. Hover or tap a cell for the full note. We link to the live price instead of printing one, because prices change daily.
Space and weight
This is where the two categories differ most. Here is the floor area each model covers in use, worked out from the published dimensions (length times width, divided by 144 to get square feet):
- MERACH W50: 50.2 x 22.2 in, about 7.7 sq ft
- UREVO SpaceWalk 3S: 51.6 x 22.1 in, about 7.9 sq ft
- WalkingPad C2: 57 x 20 in unfolded, about 7.9 sq ft; folded 32 x 20 in, about 4.4 sq ft
- Sunny SF-T7515: 64.5 x 28 in, about 12.5 sq ft; folded 40.25 x 28 in, about 7.8 sq ft
- SOLE F63: 75 x 34 in, about 17.7 sq ft; folded 42 x 34 in, about 9.9 sq ft
- Horizon 7.0 AT: 76 x 35 in, about 18.5 sq ft; folded 44 x 35 in, about 10.7 sq ft
Height matters as much as floor area. The pads are 5 to 6.5 inches tall, so they slide under a bed or sofa or stand against a wall. The treadmills fold upward instead: the SOLE F63 stands 71 inches tall folded, the Horizon 7.0 AT 68 inches and the Sunny 54.75 inches. A folded treadmill still needs its own patch of floor.
Weight follows the same pattern. The pads weigh 55 lb (WalkingPad C2, brand figure), 56.65 lb (UREVO 3S) and 69.2 lb (MERACH W50). The treadmills weigh 123.5 lb (Sunny), 187 lb (SOLE) and 277 lb (Horizon). One adult can wheel a pad to a closet every evening. A 187 lb or 277 lb treadmill is a piece of furniture: plan the delivery route, the stairs and the final spot before you order.
Speed: walking only, or running too?
Walking pads are limited to walking speeds. The UREVO 3S and MERACH W50 top out at 4.0 mph and the WalkingPad C2 at 3.7 mph. The treadmills reach 8.0 mph (Sunny) and 12 mph (SOLE and Horizon).
To put those numbers in context, divide 60 by the speed to get minutes per mile. At 4.0 mph you cover a mile in 15 minutes, which is a fast walk. The slowest running entry in the Compendium of Physical Activities is 4 to 4.2 mph, so a standard pad stops right where jogging begins. At 8 mph (a 7:30 mile) the Sunny covers most recreational running, and 12 mph (a 5 minute mile) is more than most home runners need.
If you never plan to jog, a higher top speed adds nothing. If you might, a pad will not grow with you. See our walking pad speed guide for what the common speeds mean in terms of pace.
Incline
Incline used to be a treadmill-only feature, but it no longer is. The UREVO 3S has a motorized 0 to 9% incline and the MERACH W50 goes from 1 to 12%. Among the treadmills, the Sunny offers 12 motorized levels from 2.6 to 12%, the SOLE F63 has 15 levels and the Horizon 7.0 AT reaches 15%.
So the difference is less about the maximum and more about what surrounds it. On a treadmill you have handrails to steady yourself when you change incline and a longer deck, which gives you more room as your body leans forward on a hill. On a rail-free pad, a steep incline at 3 to 4 mph asks more of your balance. The Compendium of Physical Activities lists hill climbing at a 5 to 20% grade, even at a very slow pace, at 5.0 METs, compared with 3.8 METs for flat treadmill walking at 3.0 to 3.4 mph, so incline is an effective way to add effort without adding speed. Our walking pads with incline guide compares the pads that offer it.
Handrails, stability and safety
None of the three pads in our table has a built-in handrail. The UREVO 3S has a carry handle and a separate listing sells a version with a handlebar, and the WalkingPad C2 offers a handle as an optional accessory. All three treadmills have full handrails.
That matters for three groups: people with balance concerns, people who want to walk steep inclines, and anyone new to moving belts. The Horizon 7.0 AT lists an 8 5/8 inch step-on height, which is higher than a pad (the pads are 5 to 6.5 inches tall overall), but the rails give you something to hold as you step up. If rails matter to you and you still want a pad, see our walking pads with a handle, and older walkers should read our guide to walking pads for seniors and check with a doctor first.
Safety also means buying from a brand with a clean record. The CPSC warned consumers in April 2026 to stop using Sperax walking pads and treadmills immediately, citing reports of speed and stability failures and overheating. We never recommend Sperax products; the details are in our Sperax walking pad warning. We found no CPSC recall for the six models in this comparison.
Deck size and stride
Belt size is the other big trade-off. The pads here have belts of 41.3 x 16.5 in (MERACH W50), 42.5 x 16.54 in (UREVO 3S) and 47.2 x 15.8 in (WalkingPad C2, brand figure; Tom's Guide lists 47 x 16.5 in). The treadmills run from 49.5 x 16.5 in on the Sunny to 60 x 20 in on the SOLE and Horizon.
A walking stride fits on a 40 to 48 inch belt for most people, especially at desk speeds of 1.5 to 3 mph, where steps are short. Running stretches the stride, which is one reason full treadmills use 55 to 60 inch decks. Width matters too: on a 16 inch belt you need to keep a straight line, which is easy while walking but harder if you turn to look at a screen. A 20 inch deck is more forgiving. Tall walkers should read our walking pads for tall people guide before choosing a short belt.
Weight limits
Walking pads have the widest spread. The WalkingPad C2 is rated for 220 lb and the UREVO 3S for 265 lb, while the MERACH W50 is rated for 400 lb, which is higher than any treadmill in our table. The Sunny is rated for 300 lb and the SOLE and Horizon for 325 lb. We suggest choosing a rating comfortably above the heaviest user rather than running any machine at its limit. Our guide to walking pad weight limits covers this in more detail.
Walking while you work
This is the walking pad's home turf. A pad's low height lets it slide under a standing desk, and the controls are a remote or an app, so there is no console in the way of your keyboard. MERACH says the W50's motor is rated for up to 10 hours of daily run time, which reflects that it is meant for long, slow sessions.
A treadmill does not fit under a desk: its console and uprights sit where the desk would be. You can place a desk over a full treadmill, but at that point a dedicated treadmill desk with a wide, slow walking base is usually the better answer. See our treadmill desk and under-desk treadmill guides.
Noise and floors
Pads are generally the quieter option at walking speed because there is less machine and no running impact. MERACH claims about 40 dB for the W50 and WalkingPad quotes 65 dB idle noise for the C2; these are brand figures, measured in ways the brands do not fully explain. Treadmills make more noise mainly when you run, from footfall rather than the motor. For either one in an apartment, a mat under the whole frame helps with vibration; see our treadmill mat guide and are walking pads loud?
Warranty and cost
Treadmills win clearly on warranty. The SOLE F63 has a lifetime frame and motor warranty with 2 years on the deck, electronics and parts and 1 year labor. The Horizon 7.0 AT has a lifetime frame and motor warranty, 3 years parts and 1 year labor. The budget Sunny SF-T7515 is shorter: 3 years on the structural frame and 180 days on other parts.
The pads are shorter still. UREVO offers 1 year plus a 180-day extension on the 3S, MERACH gives 1 year plus a second year when you register a membership on the W50, and the WalkingPad C2 product page does not state a warranty. On price, the three pads and the SOLE and Horizon sit in the mid-range tier for their categories, but a mid-range treadmill still costs several times what a mid-range walking pad does. The Sunny is a budget treadmill. For a closer look at how long pads tend to hold up, read how long do walking pads last.
The six models in brief
UREVO SpaceWalk 3S (walking pad)
A mid-range pad with a motorized 0 to 9% incline, a 42.5 inch belt and a 265 lb rating. It does not fold and has no handrail. Good for desk walkers who want some hill work without buying a treadmill.
WalkingPad C2 (walking pad)
Folds in half to about 32 inches long, which makes it the most storable machine here. The trade-offs are a 220 lb rating, a 3.7 mph top speed and no incline. Tom's Guide found the app glitchy and noted that unfolding takes some force.
MERACH W50 (walking pad)
A 400 lb rating and a 12% motorized incline make this the heavy-duty pad of the group. It weighs 69.2 lb and stores upright rather than folding.
Sunny SF-T7515 (treadmill)
The budget way into a real treadmill: handrails, 12 incline levels up to 12%, 8 mph and a soft-drop fold. The deck is short for running at 49.5 inches. Sunny's own product page shows it as sold out, though it is still sold through Amazon and other retailers.
Horizon 7.0 AT (treadmill)
Up to 15% incline, a 60 x 20 inch deck and open Bluetooth FTMS for apps such as Peloton, Zwift and Kinomap. It is the heaviest machine here at 277 lb. Horizon does not state the motor rating; TreadmillReviews.net lists 3.0 HP continuous.
SOLE F63 (treadmill)
A 3.0 HP brushless motor, 15 incline levels, a free app with no subscription and the longest warranty cover in the table. Its LED console is basic, and at 187 lb it is not something you move often.
Who should choose which
Choose a walking pad if: you want to walk while you work; you walk at 4 mph or slower; you live in a small space or need to put the machine away daily; you want something one person can move; or you want a lower price. Pick a pad with incline if you want more effort without more speed.
Choose a treadmill if: you want to jog or run now or later; you want handrails for balance or steep walks; you are tall or have a long stride; you want a lifetime frame and motor warranty; or you have a dedicated spot where a 120 to 280 lb machine can stay.
Consider a 2-in-1 if: you mostly walk at a desk but want the option of a light jog with a handle to hold. The ones in our catalog reach about 6.2 to 7.6 mph in running mode (one Goplus model lists 10.5 mph), which covers easy jogging but not fast running. Our best walking pads for running guide compares them.
Still unsure whether a pad will earn its place? Our guide on whether walking pads are worth it goes through the costs and the habits that make them pay off.
How we researched this comparison
We compared specifications from the UREVO, WalkingPad (KingSmith), MERACH, Sunny Health & Fitness, Horizon Fitness and SOLE product pages, checked them against Amazon listings, and read independent coverage from Tom's Guide, Garage Gym Reviews, TreadmillReviews.net and Treadmill-Guide.com. Where sources disagreed, we used the brand figure and said so. Exercise intensity figures come from the Compendium of Physical Activities. We did not test these machines in person. Read more about how we research.