Most walking pads stop at about 4 mph, which is a brisk walk. A running pad is a 2-in-1 design: with the handle down it works as an under-desk walking pad, and with the handle raised it allows higher speeds for jogging. This guide compares seven of them on the numbers that matter for running: top speed, belt length and width, weight limit and motor. If you only plan to walk, our best walking pads guide is the better starting point, and our explainer on whether you can run on a walking pad covers the general question in more depth.
Be realistic about what these machines are. None is a full running treadmill; they suit easy jogs, walk and jog intervals and short runs. If you run most days or train for races, read our walking pad vs treadmill comparison first. And because running is harder on the body than walking, the Mayo Clinic's advice applies: check with a health care professional before starting a new exercise program, especially if you have not exercised for a long time or have a chronic health condition.
Quick picks
- Best running pad overall: WalkingPad R1 Pro, about 6.2 mph, a 17.3-inch-wide belt and a fold-in-half deck.
- Best for real running speed: Goplus Superfit 4.75HP, 10.5 mph on a 49 x 20-inch belt.
- Best budget running pad: UREVO Strol 2E, 6.2 mph with the handle up and only 47.2 pounds.
- Best budget pad for faster jogs: Goplus 2-in-1 Superfit (2.25HP), up to 7.5 mph.
- Best for jogging with incline: DeerRun 9% Incline Walking Pad with Handlebar, 7.5 mph, 9% manual incline, 300 pounds.
- Lightest 7.5 mph pad: Redliro 2-in-1 Folding Treadmill (JK03F), 48.6 pounds with a safety key.
- Best for app-led walks and slow jogs: Bluefin Fitness Task 2.0, Kinomap support and a wearable remote.
Comparison table
For running, compare top speed and belt length first; the other columns decide between close options.
Scroll sideways for all specs →
| Product | Motor | Speed | Max user | Belt | Weight | Handle | Folds | Warranty | Where to buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
1 WalkingPad R1 ProWalk and light runs | 1.25 HP brushless | 0.5-10 km/h | 243 lb | 47.2 x 17.3 | 73 lb | ✓ Yesretractable handrail | ✓ Yesfolds in half | Not published | Check price on Amazon |
2 Goplus Superfit 4.75HP 2-in-1Real running speed | 4.75 HP (brand figure | 0.6-3 mph walking mode | 265 lb | 49 x 20 | 106 lb | ✓ Yesremovable handrails | ✓ Yeshandrails fold down flat… | 90-day limited warranty | Check price on Amazon |
3 UREVO Strol 2EBudget jogging | 2.25 HP | 0.6-4.0 mph walking mode | 265 lb | 40.2 x 15 | 47.2 lb | ✓ Yesadjustable and removable | ✓ Yeshandle folds down to 4.6… | 1 year + 180 days extended | Check price on Amazon |
4 Goplus 2-in-1 SuperfitBudget faster jogs | 2.25 HP peak | Walking mode 0.6-2.5 mph | 265 lb | 40 x 16 | 69.5 lb | ✓ Yeshandrail raises for… | Handrail folds down | 90 days | Check price on Amazon |
5 DeerRun 9% Incline Walking Pad with HandlebarIncline jogging | 3.0 HP | 0.6-7.5 mph | 300 lb | Not published | 58.9 lb | ✓ Yeshandlebar | ✓ Yes | Not published | Check price on Amazon |
6 Redliro 2-in-1 Folding Treadmill (JK03F)Lightest 7.5 mph | 2.5 HP | 0.5-7.5 mph | 265 lb | 41 x 15 | 48.6 lb | Not published | ✓ Yesfolds flat | 1 year | Check price on Amazon |
7 Bluefin Fitness Task 2.0App-led slow jogs | Not published | Up to 4.97 mph | 265 lb | 44.1 x 15.7 | 71.4 lb | ✓ Yesfold-up riser bar | ✓ Yesriser folds flat to 4.3 in | Not published | Check price on Amazon |
Figures are as published by the maker unless the product section below says otherwise. Hover or tap a cell for the full note. We link to the live price instead of printing one, because prices change daily.
The 7 best running pads, in detail
1. WalkingPad R1 Pro: best running pad overall
Why we picked it: The R1 Pro gets the balance right for someone who walks at a desk by day and jogs a few times a week. Its belt is 47.2 inches long and 17.3 inches wide, longer and wider than most 2-in-1 pads in this guide, which matters because running steps are far longer than walking steps (see the maths in the buying guide). With the handrail raised it runs up to 10 km/h, about 6.2 mph, or a 9:41 mile. It folds in half to about 39 inches long, and you can control speed by remote, the KS Fit app or foot sensing, with Apple Watch support through the app. The limits: a 1.25 HP brushless motor, a 243-pound rating and a 73-pound weight that makes it a two-hand lift.
Key specs:
- Motor: 1.25 HP brushless (brand figure)
- Speed: 0.5 to 10 km/h (about 0.3 to 6.2 mph); running speeds need the handrail up
- Incline: none
- Max user weight: 243 lb
- Belt: 47.2 x 17.3 in
- Weight: 73 lb; folded 39 x 28 x 6 in
Pros
- Long, wide belt for a 2-in-1
- Folds in half
- Three ways to control speed
Cons
- Premium price
- Heavy
- 243-pound limit
- Warranty not stated on the kingsmith.com page
Who should skip it: runners who want to go faster than about 6 mph, and anyone over about 200 pounds who plans to run rather than walk.
Note: kingsmith.com lists the top speed as both 6.5 mph and 10 km/h, but 10 km/h is 6.2 mph, and the Amazon title says 0.5 to 10 km/h, so we use 6.2 mph. The brand also lists an unfolded length of 42 inches, shorter than the 47.2-inch belt, which looks like an error. Our WalkingPad R1 Pro review has more.
2. Goplus Superfit 4.75HP: best for real running speed
Why we picked it: If you actually want to run, this is the only pad here built for it. With the handrails up it reaches 10.5 mph, a 5:43 mile, and its 49 x 20-inch belt is the longest and widest in this guide, close to a small treadmill. In walking mode, handrails down, it runs from 0.6 to 3 mph under a desk. It has a 4.75 HP motor figure, a remote with a pulse sensor, the Goplus app, an LED touch screen, a phone shelf and a Bluetooth speaker. The costs are weight and support. At 106 pounds it is not a pad you move daily, and both handrails must come off before it folds. Goplus gives only a 90-day warranty, and its own store shows the model sold out and on clearance with no returns.
Key specs:
- Motor: 4.75 HP (brand figure; peak or continuous not stated)
- Speed: 0.6 to 3 mph walking mode; 0.6 to 10.5 mph running mode
- Incline: none
- Max user weight: 265 lb
- Belt: 49 x 20 in
- Weight: 106 lb; 58 x 31 x 47 in unfolded; 6.5 in tall folded
Pros
- Highest top speed and biggest belt here
- Removable handrails
- Plenty of extras
Cons
- Very heavy
- 90-day warranty
- Sold out and on clearance at the brand store
- Handrails come off to fold
Who should skip it: anyone who needs to move the machine often, and buyers who want a long warranty.
Note: Goplus lists a folded length of 61 inches, longer than the 58-inch unfolded length, probably because the handrails lie flat when folded. Amazon also carries newer listings with the same title, and a separate 2.25HP Superfit exists, so check that the listing says 4.75HP. See our Goplus Superfit review.
3. UREVO Strol 2E: best budget running pad
Why we picked it: The Strol 2E is the cheapest pad here from a brand with a published US support line and a clear warranty (1 year plus 180 days on urevo.com). Raise the adjustable handle and speed goes to 6.2 mph, the same 9:41 mile as the R1 Pro, while walking mode runs from 0.6 to 4.0 mph. It weighs just 47.2 pounds and folds to 4.6 inches tall, so it is easy to store after a run. UREVO lists a 5-layer belt with 8 silicone shock absorbers and 2 rubber pads. The catch for runners is the deck: 40.2 x 15 inches is short and narrow, so it suits easy jogs at a steady pace more than runs with speed changes. Live Science reviewed it, and our UREVO Strol 2E review goes deeper.
Key specs:
- Motor: 2.25 HP (brand figure)
- Speed: 0.6 to 4.0 mph walking; 0.6 to 6.2 mph with the handle up
- Incline: none
- Max user weight: 265 lb
- Belt: 40.2 x 15 in
- Weight: 47.2 lb; 51.2 x 22.6 x 4.6 in folded
Pros
- Light and slim
- Handle included
- Clear warranty
- Budget price
Cons
- Short, narrow deck for running
- 6.2 mph ceiling
- No incline
Who should skip it: tall runners, anyone over 265 pounds, and anyone who wants to run faster than about a 10-minute mile.
4. Goplus 2-in-1 Superfit (2.25HP): best budget pad for faster jogs
Why we picked it: This smaller Superfit lists a running mode up to 7.5 mph (12 km/h), an 8:00 mile, which is faster than the Strol 2E or R1 Pro at a budget price. The 40 x 16-inch belt is a little wider than the Strol's, and it folds to about 5 inches tall with transport wheels. It adds a Bluetooth speaker, phone holder, remote and app. The problem is the pairing of speed and deck: at 7.5 mph a typical running step is longer than this 40-inch belt (see the stride maths below), so the top speed is more useful for short bursts than for sustained running. Its walking mode also tops out at 2.5 mph, so brisk walks need the rail up.
Key specs:
- Motor: 2.25 HP peak (Goplus figure)
- Speed: 0.6 to 2.5 mph walking mode; up to 7.5 mph running mode
- Incline: none
- Max user weight: 265 lb
- Belt: 40 x 16 in
- Weight: 69.5 lb; 52 x 27 x 5 in folded
Pros
- 7.5 mph at a budget price
- Low folded height
- Extras included
Cons
- Short deck for its top speed
- 90-day warranty
- OutdoorGearLab notes the handrail must come off to fold
- Clearance at the brand store
Who should skip it: anyone planning regular runs above about 6 mph, and anyone who wants a long warranty.
Note: the brand site says 2.25 HP and an Amazon title says 2.5 HP; the spec list shows both 7.5 mph and "1 to 8 mph".
5. DeerRun 9% Incline Walking Pad with Handlebar: best for jogging with incline
Why we picked it: This is the only pad here that combines jogging speed with incline. The listing gives 0.6 to 7.5 mph, a 9% manual incline, a handlebar and a 300-pound rating, the highest weight limit in this guide. It folds, has a remote and an app, and the listing claims under 50 dB and no assembly. Incline work at jogging speeds is a way to raise effort without going faster, which can suit a short deck better than sprinting. The weakness is sourcing: every figure comes from the Amazon listing (model CT03-B), DeerRun's own store has no page for it, and the belt size is not published. DeerRun's store warranty policy is 1 year, but because this model is not listed there, confirm coverage with the seller.
Key specs:
- Motor: 3.0 HP (listing figure)
- Speed: 0.6 to 7.5 mph
- Incline: 9% manual
- Max user weight: 300 lb
- Belt: not published
- Weight: 58.9 lb; 47.83 x 24.41 x 38.35 in (listing data)
Pros
- Incline plus jogging speed
- 300-pound rating
- Handlebar
- Folds
Cons
- Manual incline
- Belt size not published
- No manufacturer spec page
- App name not confirmed
Who should skip it: anyone who wants to know the belt length before buying, and runners who want to change incline mid-run. For more incline options, see our walking pads with incline.
6. Redliro 2-in-1 Folding Treadmill (JK03F): lightest 7.5 mph pad
Why we picked it: The JK03F reaches 7.5 mph but weighs only 48.6 pounds and folds to 4.7 inches tall, so it is the easiest fast pad here to store. It also has a safety key, which few pads in this guide list, plus an LCD, 12 preset programs, wheels and a remote, and it arrives assembled. Redliro's site gives a 1-year warranty on products bought from its store or authorized retailers. Like the smaller Goplus, its 41 x 15-inch belt is short and narrow for the top speed, so treat 7.5 mph as a short-interval speed. Garage Gym Reviews tested an earlier Redliro 2-in-1 and said it felt like what you would expect from a cheaper treadmill, which is a fair summary of the tier.
Key specs:
- Motor: 2.5 HP (listing figure)
- Speed: 0.5 to 7.5 mph
- Incline: none
- Max user weight: 265 lb
- Belt: 41 x 15 in
- Weight: 48.6 lb; folded 51.2 x 24 x 4.7 in
Pros
- Light for its speed
- Safety key
- Preset programs
- 1-year warranty
Cons
- Short, narrow belt
- No app mentioned
- Handle details not in the listing data we read
Who should skip it: regular runners and anyone over 265 pounds.
Note: the Garage Gym Reviews unit listed 2.25 continuous HP, a 220-pound limit and 57 pounds, while the JK03F listing says 2.5 HP, 265 pounds and 48.6 pounds, so it was probably an earlier version. See our Redliro round-up.
7. Bluefin Fitness Task 2.0: best for app-led walks and slow jogs
Why we picked it: The Task 2.0 is for people who like following on-screen routes. It works with Kinomap, has built-in Bluetooth speakers and comes with a wearable remote, so you can change speed without reaching for a handset. Its 44.1-inch belt is longer than the budget pads here, and the riser bar folds flat to 4.3 inches. The top speed is 4.97 mph (8 km/h), a 12:04 mile, so this is a slow jog at most. Live Science notes that the riser loops over the belt and reduces the usable walking space, and that the tablet holder sits flat. Bluefin does not publish motor power, and its UK site no longer lists the treadmill, which suggests it may be discontinued.
Key specs:
- Motor: not published
- Speed: up to 4.97 mph (8 km/h)
- Incline: none
- Max user weight: 265 lb (120 kg)
- Belt: 44.1 x 15.7 in
- Weight: 71.4 lb; folded 58.7 x 26.2 x 4.3 in
Pros
- Kinomap support
- Wearable remote
- Built-in speakers
- Folds very flat
Cons
- Slow top speed for running
- Riser reduces usable belt
- Motor power not published
- Possibly discontinued
Who should skip it: anyone who wants to run faster than about a 12-minute mile.
How to choose a running pad: buying guide
1. Turn your pace into a top speed
Runners think in minutes per mile; pads are sold in mph. To convert, divide 60 by the speed. Here is what each top speed in this guide means:
| Top speed | Pace per mile | Pads in this guide |
|---|---|---|
| 4.97 mph | 12:04 | Bluefin Task 2.0 |
| 6.2 mph | 9:41 | WalkingPad R1 Pro, UREVO Strol 2E |
| 7.5 mph | 8:00 | Goplus 2.25HP, DeerRun 9% incline, Redliro JK03F |
| 10.5 mph | 5:43 | Goplus 4.75HP |
Our rule: choose a pad whose top speed is at least 1 mph faster than your usual easy pace, so you are not running at the motor's limit and you have room for short pickups. If your easy pace is a 10-minute mile (6 mph), that means about 7 mph or more.
2. Check the belt against your running step
This is where most running pads fall short. The distance the belt moves between one footstrike and the next is your speed divided by your cadence (steps per minute). At 6 mph the belt moves 6,336 inches a minute. At 160 steps a minute that is about 39.6 inches per step; at 170 steps a minute, about 37.3 inches. At 7.5 mph (7,920 inches a minute) it is about 46.6 to 49.5 inches per step at the same cadences. Compare that with the decks: 40 inches (Goplus 2.25HP), 40.2 inches (Strol 2E), 41 inches (Redliro JK03F). At 7.5 mph one step can be longer than the whole belt, so you land near the front and need to stay there with no room to drift. Our decision rule: for jogs up to about 5 mph, a 40-inch belt is workable; for regular running at 6 mph or more, look for 47 inches or longer (R1 Pro at 47.2, Goplus 4.75HP at 49). Count your own cadence over 30 seconds and double it to use your number instead of ours. Tall runners should also read our guide for tall people.
3. Wider is more forgiving
Running adds side-to-side movement. Belts here range from 15 inches (Strol 2E, Redliro) to 17.3 inches (R1 Pro) and 20 inches (Goplus 4.75HP). If you plan to run more than a few minutes at a time, favor the wider belts.
4. Leave a bigger weight margin than for walking
Running puts more load through the deck and motor than walking does. For walking we suggest a pad rated 30 to 50 pounds above your weight; for running, we would stay at the top of that range or beyond it. With a 243-pound rating (R1 Pro), that points to runners under about 195 pounds; with 265 pounds, under about 215; with 300 pounds (DeerRun), under about 250. Motor figures on these pads are brand or listing numbers, often without saying whether they are peak or continuous, so do not treat a big horsepower number as a substitute for margin.
5. Safety habits for running on a pad
- Only run in running mode, with the handle or rails raised and locked; walking mode is designed for walking speeds only.
- Use the safety key if your pad has one (the Redliro JK03F lists one); otherwise keep the remote in hand or worn, like Bluefin's wearable remote. Infrared remotes, such as the Goplus remote, need line of sight.
- Clear several feet behind the pad, and move it out from under the desk before you run.
- Build up with walk and jog intervals rather than starting with long runs.
The CDC counts jogging and running as vigorous activity and says 75 minutes of vigorous activity a week can stand in for 150 minutes of moderate activity such as brisk walking (CDC). That means short runs on a pad can do a lot of work, so there is no need to push speed early. If you have a heart condition, joint problems or have been inactive, talk to your doctor before you start running.
6. Quick decision rules
- Desk walking plus a few easy jogs a week: WalkingPad R1 Pro.
- You run at 7 mph or faster: Goplus Superfit 4.75HP, or a full treadmill.
- Tight budget, easy jogs only: UREVO Strol 2E.
- Over 250 pounds: the 300-pound DeerRun, and keep to walking and slow jogs.
- You run most days: consider a full treadmill, compared in our best treadmills for walking guide.
How we researched this guide
We compared manufacturer pages from KingSmith (WalkingPad), Goplus, UREVO and Redliro; Amazon listing data for the DeerRun, Redliro and Bluefin models; and independent coverage from Live Science, Tom's Guide, Garage Gym Reviews and OutdoorGearLab, plus CDC and Mayo Clinic guidance on activity. We also checked CPSC recall records for each brand and found none for these models. We did not test these pads in person. Where sources disagree we say so, and we update this guide when models or specs change. See how we research for our full method.