KingSmith is the company; WalkingPad is its brand. Search for either name and you land on the same machines, often sold on two official websites, kingsmith.com and walkingpad.com, which do not always list the same figures. KingSmith says WalkingPad began as a lab project by four graduate students, that it holds the global "WalkingPad" trademark, and that it launched the A1, which it calls the first foldable walking pad. That history explains the brand's main strength: five of the six models we cover fold in half. For how WalkingPad compares with every other brand, see our best walking pads guide.
This page covers the six KingSmith models we can match to current amazon.com listings, explains what the model names mean, and says which one fits which buyer.
Which KingSmith WalkingPad should you buy?
- Best for most people: WalkingPad Z1, folds in half, a 47.6-inch belt and a slim 4.1-inch profile.
- Smallest folded footprint: WalkingPad C2, folds to about 32 x 20 inches.
- Best for heavier walkers: WalkingPad A1 Pro (300 lb), the highest weight rating in the range.
- Best wide-belt folding pad: WalkingPad P1, a 16.5-inch belt and four ways to control speed.
- Best with a handrail: WalkingPad Z1R, a removable handrail and up to 5 mph.
- Best for walking and running: WalkingPad R1 Pro, about 6.2 mph with the handrail up.
KingSmith WalkingPad models compared
Every model here is a walking-speed pad except the R1 Pro, and none has an incline.
Scroll sideways for all specs →
| Product | Motor | Speed | Max user | Belt | Weight | Folds | Handle | App | Where to buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
1 WalkingPad Z1Most people | Brushless | 1-4 mph | 242 lb | 47.6 x 15.7 | 51 lb | ✓ Yesfolds in half | ✕ No | KS Fit | Check price on Amazon |
2 WalkingPad C2Small apartments | 1 HP brushless | 0.5-3.7 mph | 220 lb | 47.2 x 15.8 | 55 lb | ✓ Yesfolds in half | + Optional | KS Fit | Check price on Amazon |
3 WalkingPad A1 Pro (300 lb)Heavier walkers | 3.75 HP brushless | 0.5-3.75 mph | 300 lb (this version | 47 x 16.5 | 63 lb | ✓ Yesfolds in half (180°) | ✕ No | KS Fit | Check price on Amazon |
4 WalkingPad P1Wider belt | Brushed, 746 W input | 0.3-3.75 mph | 220 lb | 47.24 x 16.5 | 62 lb | ✓ Yesfolds in half (180°) | ✕ No | KS Fit | Check price on Amazon |
5 WalkingPad Z1RHandrail | 2.25 HP brushless | 1-5 mph | 242 lb | 47.6 x 15.7 | 57.7 lb | Handrail folds down flat | ✓ Yesremovable handrail | KS Fit | Check price on Amazon |
6 WalkingPad R1 ProWalk and run | 1.25 HP brushless | 0.5-10 km/h | 243 lb | 47.2 x 17.3 | 73 lb | ✓ Yesfolds in half | ✓ Yesretractable handrail | KS Fit | Check price on Amazon |
Figures are as published by the maker unless the product section below says otherwise. Hover or tap a cell for the full note. We link to the live price instead of printing one, because prices change daily.
WalkingPad model names explained
KingSmith does not publish a key to its model letters, so read them as family names rather than codes. Here is what the product pages and KingSmith's own timeline show:
- A series (A1 Pro): descends from the A1, which KingSmith calls the first foldable walking pad and which won iF and Red Dot design awards in 2014. The current A1 Pro is sold in 230 lb and 300 lb versions under the same name.
- R series (R1 Pro): descends from the R1, which KingSmith calls the first foldable treadmill. It is the running-capable line, with a handrail that raises for faster speeds.
- C and P series (C2, P1): fold-in-half walking pads with foot-sensing speed control. The P1 uses an older brushed motor; the C2 is brushless.
- Z series (Z1, Z1R): the newest pads. Despite the shared name, the Z1R is not simply a Z1 with a rail: its deck does not fold in half, and it folds to 49.2 inches long against 31.8 inches for the Z1.
Model names on Amazon add another layer. Several models, including the P1 and A1 Pro, have more than one amazon.com listing, some older than others. Check the weight rating and speed in the listing title before you buy.
The 6 KingSmith WalkingPads, in detail
1. WalkingPad Z1: best for most people
Why we picked it: The Z1 does the classic WalkingPad trick, folding in half to 31.8 x 22 x 5.4 inches, while fixing two weak points of older models: it reaches 4 mph instead of 3.7 or 3.75, and it is rated for 242 pounds instead of 220. Its 47.6 x 15.7-inch belt is among the longest in the range, and at 4.1 inches tall unfolded it is the slimmest WalkingPad here, which helps under a desk. It ships assembled, uses EVA and PET shock absorption, and weighs 51 pounds. The one messy spec is the motor: it is brushless, but kingsmith.com lists 0.75 HP, walkingpad.com 2.25 HP and hometreadmill.co.uk 1.25 HP. kingsmith.com also lists it as sold out while walkingpad.com still sells it. Our WalkingPad Z1 review has more.
Key specs:
- Motor: brushless; 0.75 HP (kingsmith.com) or 2.25 HP (walkingpad.com)
- Speed: 1 to 4 mph
- Max user weight: 242 lb (walkingpad.com); 243 lb (kingsmith.com)
- Belt: 47.6 x 15.7 in
- Weight and size: 51 lb; 56.1 x 22 x 4.1 in unfolded; 31.8 x 22 x 5.4 in folded
- Warranty: 1 year (walkingpad.com)
Pros
- Folds in half
- Long belt
- Very slim
- Faster and higher-rated than the C2 and P1
Cons
- No handle or incline
- 242-pound limit
- Motor rating differs between KingSmith's own sites
Who should skip it: anyone over 242 pounds, anyone who wants a handrail, and anyone who wants a minimum speed below 1 mph for very slow walking.
2. WalkingPad C2: smallest folded footprint
Why we picked it: The C2 folds 180 degrees to about 32 x 20 x 5.5 inches, the narrowest folded size here, so it can stand in a closet or slide under most beds. Unfolded, it still has a 47.2 x 15.8-inch belt and a brushless 1 HP motor (KingSmith figures). It arrives assembled and has a foot-sensing mode that speeds up as you move toward the front of the belt and slows as you drift back, plus a remote and the KS Fit app. Tom's Guide found the app glitchy and noted that unfolding it takes some force. Tom's Guide also lists different figures from KingSmith (62 lb, a 47 x 16.5-inch belt and 0.3 to 3.7 mph); we use the brand figures. Our WalkingPad C2 review goes further.
Key specs:
- Motor: 1 HP, brushless (brand figure)
- Speed: 0.5 to 3.7 mph
- Max user weight: 220 lb
- Belt: 47.2 x 15.8 in
- Weight and size: 55 lb; 57 x 20 x 5 in unfolded; 32 x 20 x 5.5 in folded
- Noise: 65 dB (KingSmith figure)
Pros
- Narrow folded size
- Long belt
- Brushless motor
- No assembly
Cons
- 220-pound limit
- 3.7 mph top speed
- Handle sold separately
- Warranty not stated on the product page
Who should skip it: heavier users, anyone who wants to walk faster than 3.7 mph, and anyone who will leave the pad out all the time and so gains nothing from the fold.
3. WalkingPad A1 Pro (300 lb): best for heavier walkers
Why we picked it: Most WalkingPads stop at 220 to 243 pounds. The 300 lb version of the A1 Pro raises that to 300 pounds while keeping the fold-in-half design, folding to 32.5 x 21.5 x 5 inches. KingSmith lists a 3.75 HP brushless motor, a wider 47 x 16.5-inch belt, Smart FootSense speed control, Apple Watch support through KS Fit and a noise level under 65 dB. It ships fully assembled, and KingSmith says it is HSA/FSA eligible. Two cautions: walkingpad.com also sells a 230 lb A1 Pro under the same name, and it showed the 300 lb version as sold out or unavailable when we checked, so confirm the rating on the Amazon listing before buying. It is also the heaviest pure walking pad here at 63 pounds. See our WalkingPad A1 Pro review.
Key specs:
- Motor: 3.75 HP, brushless (brand figure)
- Speed: 0.5 to 3.75 mph
- Max user weight: 300 lb (this version; a 230 lb version is also sold)
- Belt: 47 x 16.5 in
- Weight and size: 63 lb; 56.5 x 21.5 x 5 in unfolded; 32.5 x 21.5 x 5 in folded
- Warranty: 1 year, optional extension (walkingpad.com)
Pros
- Highest KingSmith weight rating
- Wider belt
- Folds in half
- FootSense
Cons
- Premium price tier
- 3.75 mph top speed
- Two versions with the same name
- No handrail
Who should skip it: anyone over about 270 pounds who wants a comfortable margin (see our walking pads for heavier people), and anyone who needs a handrail or wants to jog.
4. WalkingPad P1: best wide-belt folding pad
Why we picked it: The P1 is an older design, but it still has a 16.5-inch-wide belt, wider than the Z1, Z1R and C2, and four ways to control speed: FootSense, the panel, the remote and the KS Fit app. It folds in half to 32.5 x 21.5 x 5 inches and has 12-step speed control and a 4-layer belt. The drawbacks come from its age. It uses a brushed motor (KingSmith lists 746 W input rather than horsepower), it is rated for 220 pounds, and it weighs 62 pounds. Sources differ on the minimum speed: 0.3 mph on walkingpad.com and 0.5 mph on kingsmith.com. There are several amazon.com P1 listings, old and new, so buy from the one in stock. Our WalkingPad P1 review covers it in detail.
Key specs:
- Motor: brushed, 746 W input (brand figure)
- Speed: 0.3 to 3.75 mph (walkingpad.com); 0.5 mph minimum on kingsmith.com
- Max user weight: 220 lb
- Belt: 47.24 x 16.5 in
- Weight and size: 62 lb; 56.37 x 21.5 x 5 in unfolded; 32.5 x 21.5 x 5 in folded
- Warranty: 1 year, optional extension (walkingpad.com)
Pros
- Wide belt for a folding pad
- Many speed controls
- Very slow minimum speed
Cons
- Older brushed motor
- 220-pound limit
- Heavier than the Z1
Who should skip it: anyone over 220 pounds, and buyers who want the newest motor technology for long daily use.
5. WalkingPad Z1R: best with a handrail
Why we picked it: The Z1R adds a removable handrail, which many buyers want for balance while reading or taking calls. It also reaches 5 mph, faster than any other pure walking pad in the range, and KingSmith lists a 2.25 HP brushless motor, EVA and PET cushioning, Apple Watch support through KS Fit and Bluetooth pairing with Kinomap. It keeps the 47.6 x 15.7-inch belt and 242-pound rating of the Z1. The trade-off is storage. The handrail folds flat, but the deck does not fold in half, so it folds to 49.2 x 23.2 x 5.5 inches rather than about 32 inches. walkingpad.com offers 30-day returns and a 1-year warranty with an optional extension. For other options, see our best walking pads with a handle.
Key specs:
- Motor: 2.25 HP, brushless (brand figure)
- Speed: 1 to 5 mph
- Max user weight: 242 lb
- Belt: 47.6 x 15.7 in
- Weight and size: 57.7 lb; 55.9 x 23.2 x 37.9 in unfolded; 49.2 x 23.2 x 5.5 in folded
- Warranty: 1 year, optional extension (walkingpad.com)
Pros
- Removable handrail
- Up to 5 mph
- Long belt
Cons
- Does not fold in half
- Narrow 15.7-inch belt
- 242-pound limit
Who should skip it: anyone who needs a pad that folds small, and anyone over 242 pounds.
6. WalkingPad R1 Pro: best for walking and running
Why we picked it: The R1 Pro is the KingSmith to buy if you want one machine for desk walking and short runs. Its speed runs from 0.5 to 10 km/h (about 0.3 to 6.2 mph), with the retractable handrail raised for running speeds. It has the widest belt in the range at 47.2 x 17.3 inches, a 1.25 HP brushless motor, and three ways to control speed (remote, app and foot sensing), plus Apple Watch support through KS Fit. It still folds in half, to 39 x 28 x 6 inches. It is the heaviest model at 73 pounds and sits in the premium price tier. kingsmith.com quotes a 6.5 mph top speed alongside 10 km/h, but 10 km/h works out to 6.2 mph, so plan on the lower figure. Our WalkingPad R1 Pro review has the full detail.
Key specs:
- Motor: 1.25 HP, brushless (brand figure)
- Speed: 0.5 to 10 km/h, about 0.3 to 6.2 mph (running speeds need the handrail up)
- Max user weight: 243 lb
- Belt: 47.2 x 17.3 in
- Weight and size: 73 lb; 39 x 28 x 6 in folded
- Handle: retractable handrail
Pros
- Runs to about 6 mph
- Widest WalkingPad belt
- Folds in half
- Handrail included
Cons
- Premium price
- Heavy to move
- 243-pound limit
- Warranty not stated on kingsmith.com
Who should skip it: anyone over 243 pounds, anyone who needs to lift the pad often, and serious runners, who will want a full treadmill.
Note: kingsmith.com lists an unfolded length of 42 inches, shorter than the 47.2-inch belt, so that figure is probably an error.
How to choose between WalkingPad models
Weight rating first
KingSmith's ratings sit in three bands: 220 pounds (C2, P1), 242 to 243 pounds (Z1, Z1R, R1 Pro) and 300 pounds (A1 Pro, 300 lb version only). Choose a model rated at least 30 pounds above your weight. If you are over about 270 pounds, no current WalkingPad gives that margin, and a 400-pound pad from Merach is the better fit. Our walking pad weight limit guide explains the reasoning.
Fold in half, or fold flat
Five of the six models fold in half. The Z1R is the exception. Work out the floor area you have for storage: the C2 folds to about 640 square inches (32 x 20), the Z1 to about 700 (31.8 x 22), the A1 Pro and P1 to about 699 (32.5 x 21.5), and the R1 Pro to about 1,092 (39 x 28). The Z1R needs about 1,141 square inches (49.2 x 23.2), almost twice the C2. If your pad will live under a desk permanently, folding matters less and the Z1R's handrail may be worth more.
Belt width and speed
Belt widths run from 15.7 inches (Z1, Z1R) to 17.3 inches (R1 Pro). If you drift sideways while typing, the P1 and A1 Pro (16.5 inches) and the R1 Pro (17.3 inches) give you more room. For speed, the C2, P1 and A1 Pro top out at 3.7 to 3.75 mph, the Z1 at 4 mph, the Z1R at 5 mph and the R1 Pro at about 6.2 mph. Most people walk at 1.5 to 2.5 mph while working, so speed only matters if you want brisk walks or jogging. Our walking pad speed guide has typical paces.
Motor type and control
All current models are brushless except the P1, which uses a brushed motor. Brushless motors generally need less maintenance. Most WalkingPads also offer foot sensing (FootSense), which adjusts speed by where you stand on the belt. It is handy for short walks. At a desk, where you may lean toward the screen, a fixed speed set by remote can be simpler, and every model has a remote.
Desk height
The Z1 adds about 4.1 inches to your standing height, and the C2, P1 and A1 Pro about 5 inches. Raise your standing desk by the same amount when you walk.
What to know about KingSmith
The company: KingSmith sells WalkingPad through kingsmith.com and walkingpad.com. On its about page it claims 264 patents and more than 1.7 million units sold, a self-owned factory completed in 2018, and a patented auto speed control called FootSense. It also lists design awards for the A1 and X21, and USA Today CES Top Pick awards in 2025 and 2026 (WalkingPad about page). These are the brand's own claims.
App: all six models use the KS Fit app on iOS and Android. Several models support Apple Watch through KS Fit, and the Z1R pairs with Kinomap. Tom's Guide found the app glitchy on the C2, so rely on the remote for daily use.
Warranty and returns: walkingpad.com's policy gives 30 days from delivery to return a product and "a one-year guarantee". In the first 30 days, returns and repairs are free; from 30 days to one year, you pay to ship the pad to the maintenance center and repairs and return shipping are free (WalkingPad refund policy). Product pages for the Z1R, A1 Pro and P1 mention an optional extension. The C2 and R1 Pro product pages we checked do not state a warranty, so confirm the terms if you buy from another seller.
Support: walkingpad.com lists contact@walkingpad.com and +1 781-809-1779.
Safety record: we found no CPSC recall or warning naming a WalkingPad or KingSmith product as of September 2026. For the one 2026 walking pad warning, see our Sperax walking pad warning page.
WalkingPad vs rivals
WalkingPad vs UREVO: WalkingPad wins on storage, because most models fold in half, and on belt length at about 47 inches. UREVO wins on incline, which no WalkingPad here has. Our UREVO vs WalkingPad comparison and UREVO walking pad review go through the details.
WalkingPad vs Merach: Merach's W50 and W60 are rated for 400 pounds with a 12% motorized incline, but they are heavy and do not fold. If you are heavier or want incline, Merach fits better; if you need to put the pad away every evening, WalkingPad does. See our Merach walking pad review.
WalkingPad vs budget brands: DeerRun, Yagud and similar brands cost less, but DeerRun's pads have belts of about 35 inches and Yagud rarely publishes belt size at all. For the best folding options across all brands, see our best foldable walking pads.
How we researched this review
We compared KingSmith's product pages on kingsmith.com and walkingpad.com, its about page and refund policy, Amazon listing data, and independent coverage from Tom's Guide and hometreadmill.co.uk, plus the CPSC recall database. Where KingSmith's two sites disagree, we show both figures. We did not test these pads in person, and we update this page when KingSmith changes its range. Read more about how we research.